Problem with kernel output

Hi,
I am new to CUDA programming and am trying to write a very simple GPU implementation of a function. It calculates a value for every thread and passes back to the global array f_out. I compare the result to the CPU case. I then calculate the sum of the f_out values. Now the sum of the values in GPU and CPU are different. I cannot seem to figure out the problem. Any help would be appreciated.

template <typename T>
        __global__ void cuda_f(int N, int num_matches, T* pt_set1, T* pt_set2, int * indices, T* mat, T* trans, T* f_out) 
        {
            //unsigned int tid = threadIdx.x;
            unsigned int gid  = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
            int j = indices[gid];
            if( j >= 0 && j < N && gid < N) {
            // res = T * p1 - p2
            T resX = (trans[0] * pt_set1[gid] + trans[1]*pt_set1[gid+N] + trans[2]*pt_set1[gid+2*N] + trans[3]) - pt_set2[j];
            T resY = (trans[4] * pt_set1[gid] + trans[5]*pt_set1[gid+N] + trans[6]*pt_set1[gid+2*N] + trans[7]) - pt_set2[j+N];
            T resZ = (trans[8] * pt_set1[gid] + trans[9]*pt_set1[gid+N] + trans[10]*pt_set1[gid+2*N] + trans[11]) - pt_set2[j+2*N];
            // temp = M * res
            T tempX = (mat[gid] * resX + mat[gid+N] * resY + mat[gid+2*N] * resZ);
            T tempY = (mat[gid+3*N] * resX + mat[gid+4*N] * resY + mat[gid+5*N] * resZ);
            T tempZ = (mat[gid+6*N] * resX + mat[gid+7*N] * resY + mat[gid+8*N] * resZ);
            // temp_double = res' * temp
            T temp_double = resX * tempX + resY * tempY + resZ * tempZ;

f_out[gid] = temp_double/(double)num_matches;
            }
        }
 int f(std::vector<double> &t, void * params) 
 {
    optData *opt = (optData *)params;
    double *d_p1, *d_ p2, *d_M,*d_trans, *d_f_out;
    int *d_ind;
    //read in p1 points
    checkCudaErrors(cudaMalloc((void **)&d_p1, 3*opt->N*sizeof(double)));