problems with surf2DLayeredread/surf2DLayeredwrite

Hi,

I’m not able to get layered 2D surfaces to work. I could only find a sample reading from a surface within the CUDA SDK samples and I did not find a single example on the web…

Some explaination about what I’m trying to do: dach pixel represents a component of a velocity vector of an associated moving object. Since I only need the velocity data within my kernel (I only need the resulting position data for my GLSL vertex shader later on), I need some sort of read/write texture there – so I’m trying to use surfaces. If any of you has recommendations about how to do this differently please don’t hesitate to tell me, I’m new to CUDA.

I’m initializing like this:

//global:

surface<void, cudaSurfaceType2DLayered> velocitySurface;

#define BUFFER_WIDTH		512

#define BUFFER_SIZE		( BUFFER_WIDTH * BUFFER_WIDTH )

#define VELOCITY_COMPONENTS	3

//....

desc = cudaCreateChannelDesc<float>();

extent = make_cudaExtent( BUFFER_WIDTH, BUFFER_WIDTH, 3 );

handleCudaError( cudaMalloc3DArray( &( this->velocityArray ), &desc, extent, cudaArrayLayered | cudaArraySurfaceLoadStore ) );

float *initBuffer = new float[BUFFER_SIZE * VELOCITY_COMPONENTS];

std::fill( initBuffer, initBuffer + BUFFER_SIZE * VELOCITY_COMPONENTS, 0.0f );

params.dstArray = this->velocityArray;

params.srcPos = make_cudaPos( 0, 0, 0 ); 

params.dstPos = make_cudaPos( 0, 0, 0 ); 

params.extent = extent;

params.kind = cudaMemcpyHostToDevice;

params.srcPtr = make_cudaPitchedPtr( (void*)( initBuffer ), BUFFER_WIDTH * sizeof( float ), BUFFER_WIDTH, BUFFER_WIDTH );

handleCudaError( cudaMemcpy3D( &params ) );

handleCudaError( cudaBindSurfaceToArray( &velocitySurface, this->velocityArray, &desc ) );

delete [] initBuffer;

In my kernel I got this code:

//...

int x = threadIdx.x + blockIdx.x * blockDim.x;

int y = threadIdx.y + blockIdx.y * blockDim.y;

int offset = x + y * blockDim.x * gridDim.x;

float3 vel = make_float3(