ptxas optimization

Hello,

I tried getting the assembly listing of a very simple kernel function (below). I’m a bit baffled by the register count and usage. Unfortunately, I haven’t found anything resembling a reference so I’m guessing here. On the other hand, the assembly’s function isn’t difficult to guess at, even for a complete beginner like me. More complicated are the declarations.

Now then, my guess is: the code has a total of 7 registers, 3 for 32 bit and 4 for 64 bit (plus perhaps place for the arguments? I can’t discern this but the [font=“Lucida Console”].reg[/font] declarations suggest additional registers). Is this correct? If yes, why? Isn’t [font=“Lucida Console”]ptxas[/font] capable of optimizing this simple code (notice: optimization is set to -O3!). Is it faster not recycle registers? Also, is there really no direct conversion from [font=“Lucida Console”]u16[/font] to [font=“Lucida Console”]u64[/font]?

Here’s the code and the relevant PTX:

__global__ void kernel(int* data) {

data[threadIdx.x] *= 2;

}
.entry __globfunc__Z6kernelPi

{

.reg .u32 %r<5>;

.reg .u64 %rd<6>;

.param .u64 __cudaparm___globfunc__Z6kernelPi_data;

.loc	16  9   0

$LBB1___globfunc__Z6kernelPi:

.loc	16  10  0

ld.param.u64	%rd1, [__cudaparm___globfunc__Z6kernelPi_data];

cvt.u32.u16	 %r1, %tid.x;

cvt.u64.u32	 %rd2, %r1;

mul.lo.u64  %rd3, %rd2, 4;

add.u64	 %rd4, %rd1, %rd3;

ld.global.s32   %r2, [%rd4+0];

mul.lo.s32  %r3, %r2, 2;

st.global.s32   [%rd4+0], %r3;

.loc	16  11  0

exit;

$LDWend___globfunc__Z6kernelPi:

} // __globfunc__Z6kernelPi

Basically, what speaks against the following hypothetical code? I.e. why not recycle registers that are not used any more?

ld.param.u64   %rd1, [__cudaparm___globfunc__Z6kernelPi_data];

cvt.u64.u16	%rd2, %tid.x;

mul.lo.u64	 %rd2, %rd2, 4;

add.u46		%rd2, %rd1, %rd2;

ld.global.s32   %r2, [%rd2+0];

mul.lo.s32	  %r2, %r2, 2;

st.global.s32   [%rd2+0], %r2;