Re-training ResNet-18 model on Jetson nano | how many epochs? The model shows only one class on everything after re-training

Hello people!

I am really new to Linux, image detection and python, so assume that I don’t have any base and the answer might be really simple.

I am following Jetson AI fundamentals on my Jetson Nano 2 GB, season 3 with Dusty. In his videos Dusty runs all the examples with 1 epoch and afterwards he show the re-trained result.

My question: the re-trained result that Dusty shows, not achieved by 1 epoch, right?
So, if I’m trying to re-train with my data set (or for instance with cat_dog dataset) I need to cycle at least 30 epochs to get around 80% accuracy, correct?

Therefore, if I am running only one epoch, it is normal that everything is recognized as a Dog?

P.S: I tried to use the cat_dog_100_epochs and it recognizes pretty well.

Thanks!

Hi,

This looks like a Jetson issue. Please refer to the below samples in case useful.

For any further assistance, we will move this post to to Jetson related forum.

Thanks!

1 Like

Thanks, sorry if I misplaced the topic in the wrong forum.

I followed the dusty-nv/jetson-inference GitHub step-by-step, the question above came after running it several times on several examples.

Update: I trained the model for 30 epochs, it recognizes everything as a dog (with various probabilities), while I tried it on the cat test data set .

I faced the same issue when I tried to build my own dataset, it only popped out one class.

It seems that no matter what dataset I use or for how many epochs I train my model it shows only one class on everything…

This is what I did with the cat_dog dataset:

python3 train.py --model-dir=models/cat_dog data/cat_dog --batch-size=4 --workers=1 --epochs=30

Then exported it to onnx:

python3 onnx_export.py --model-dir=models/cat_dog

Then tested it on the cat test dataset using resnet18, and saved it to cat_dog dir: