Running One Thread per CUDA Core Or at least allow for highly divergent, register-intensive kernels

Hello,

I’m in a situation where I would like to use the parallel nature of a GPU to perform high-fidelity propagations on several items at the same time. Unfortunately, “high fidelity” means very high register counts (>50) and divergent threads due to the application of different regimes when certain criteria are met (for example, going from a laminar to a turbulent fluid flow model when Reynolds number is greater than 5e5).

I’ve been coding CUDA for a few months now, and usually I’ll find ways around this by either implementing intricate 3D texture lookups for data that can be pre-processed, using shared memory for somewhat constant parameters, or by splitting up the calculation steps so that I launch kernels that perform a single step one after another, etc. However, in this case, that’s not possible.

One approach I have used is simply forcing each stream processor (ie each CUDA core) to process a single thread by having every thread that is not a multiple of 32 return immediately. This method results in only one active thread in each warp, so there is no serialization within the warp (serialization is BAD). However, this only resolves the issue of divergent code, and doesn’t alleviate the register usage issue.

The way I see it, if there was a way to configure the kernel launch such that only one thread is run per stream processor, then everything would be fixed for me, since for Compute Capability 2.1 this would amount to ~660 registers per thread (32000 registers per multiprocessor / 48 threads per multiprocessor) and the threads can be as divergent as they need to be since there is a separate processing unit for each thread.

So, my question is, for times when high register counts are unavoidable and there is going to be divergent code, how can I implement this in CUDA and get the performance I know and love?

-slugwarz