syncthread race condition

Hi guys,

I’m using the following code but the result turns out to be NaN for large size of input data but small input works fine

__global__ void fastComputeActivation(const float *input, float *output, int width, int height, int depth, const int size)
{
    int i = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
    int row = (i%(width*height))/width;
    int col = (i%(width*height))%width;
    int d = i/(width*height);

if (i < size)
    {
        int idx = d+depth*row;
        int inIdx = d*height*width+row*width;
        if(col == 0)    output[idx] = 0;
        __syncthreads();
        atomicAdd(&(output[idx]),input[inIdx+col]);
        __syncthreads();
        if(col == 0)
        {
            output[idx] = sigmoid(output[idx]);
        }
    }

}

I am new to CUDA so is syncthreads working across blocks?
I believe it does not. so I want something similar to syncthreads but like global barrier among a grid.
Or is there other problems in my code?

Thanks,

Hi,

I want to note a few things:

1. _syncthreads() is a barrier where all threads of a block must check before moving, if you put it in an if statement that can potentially split the threads of a block, you will get undetermined results. You can finish the if clause before the synchronization point and restart another clause with the same condition.

2. Why don’t you use threads in the y and z directions, threadIdx.y/z, it is made to help you think in the natural dimensions.