Timing Error

So when I time my kernel execution from my main .cu file, about 30% of the time I get a result of around 4000ms compared to normal 8-12ms. I don’t know what it could be, as it is being run with the same input. I’m using CUT_SAFE_CALL(cutCreateTimer(timer)) where timer is an unsigned int. If you need more information, just post and I shall reply shortly.

Edit: Also, when I get the results around 4000ms the executable that is running the program freezes, as well as the mouse freezes.

Edit2: Could it be the way I have set up my loop to call a device function from my global function? I am new to CUDA and feel like I am not using the threads correctly.

for(i = threadIdx.x; i < nColumns; i++){
for(j = threadIdx.y; j < nColumns; j++){
x = j+i*nColumns;
Covariance(cpuA, x, nColumns, result, vector, vector2);
}
}

Ok, extract minimal code which reproduces the problem and post it here.

Usually you do that by

dim3 threads(64,64);

dim3 grid(64,64);

device_kernel<<<grid, threads>>>();

which will do these cycles. In this case it will do 4096x4096 runs.

Ofcourse you may put your numbers instead of 64

Inside Covariance coordinates are:

const int ix = blockDim.x * blockIdx.x + threadIdx.x;

const int iy = blockDim. * blockIdx.y + threadIdx.y;

You have threads & blocks, not just threads.

Ok, thanks. I seem to have forgotten that as I just started learning CUDA a week or so ago. with the device_kernel<<<grid,threads>>>(); you say it will do 4096 runs. How does that work if I want to call an specific element in an array based on what run it is? I think this is the part that confuses me.

Edit: I think I understand the <<<grid,threads>>> after looking at it some more. I’ll post again if I still have problems with this.