Undefined reference to `cublasCreate_v2'

Hi - I’m new to CUDA and just trying to learn the basics
I’m following the example in the CUBLAS Library but when making the call cublasCreate(&handle) I get this error

undefined reference to `cublasCreate_v2’

I have included cublas_v2.h exactly the same way as the example. Aimilar errors come up when trying to use other cublas functions - can anyone tell me why I’m getting this error? Thanks.

Are you linking the cublas library?

nvcc file.cu -lcublas

2 Likes

I guess that was it - thanks, and sorry for asking such a simple question :)

@ikzo don’t apologise… your question helped me!

2 Likes

In Nsight, how to incorporate nvcc file.cu -lcublas -lcusparse. I am a beginner. I have included cublas_v2.h and cusparse_v2.h. I am running through my local machine which is connected by ssh to the remote server and open Nsight by typing in the terminal.

Take a look here:

[url]cuda - How to link to cublas library in eclipse Nsight? - Stack Overflow

Thank you very much for your reply. I have already found this link during searching in between. But, really I appreciate your help

I have a similar problem with nvlink during a compilation of a code:

nvcc -arch=sm_61 -shared -Xcompiler -fPIC -O3 -dc -m64 -o /home/mgovorcin/Installation_dir/isce/isce-2.2.0/build/components/zerodop/GPUampcor/src/gpu-ampcor.o -c components/zerodop/GPUampcor/cuda/GPUamp.cu
nvcc -arch=sm_61 -shared -Xcompiler -fPIC -O3 -dlink /home/mgovorcin/Installation_dir/isce/isce-2.2.0/build/components/zerodop/GPUampcor/src/gpu-ampcor.o -o /home/mgovorcin/Installation_dir/isce/isce-2.2.0/build/components/zerodop/GPUampcor/src/gpu-ampcor-linked.o -L/usr/local/cuda/lib64 -lcuda -lcublas_static -lcufft_static -lculibos -lcublas_device -lcudart -lcudadevrt
nvlink error : Undefined reference to ‘cublasCreate_v2’ in ‘/home/mgovorcin/Installation_dir/isce/isce-2.2.0/build/components/zerodop/GPUampcor/src/gpu-ampcor.o’