Understanding kernel registers

I’m new to CUDA and am trying to understand the concept of a kernel register, and how (if?) these relate to variables. Am I right in saying that each local variable defined in a kernel broadly takes up one register? I have a particularly complex kernel where I use a lot of variables, and I’ve heard there is a 64-register limit? Many of these variables are only there for readability, for example in this contrived example:

int i = lookupTable[0];
int j = lookupTable[1];
int x = buffer[i];
int y= buffer[j];

Versus:

int x = buffer[lookupTable[0]];
int y= buffer[lookupTable[1]];

Would the latter version result in fewer registers being used, and if so would the compiler optimise this sort of thing anyway?

As a second example, I might have a series of “if” or “for” blocks, each declaring a variable “i” in their inner scope. Would it improve matters if I was to declare “i” once at the start of the kernel then re-use this in these different code blocks?

What else in the kernel contributes to register use? Arguments? Anything else?

Registers in CUDA GPUs are 32-bits wide, so my comments apply to 32-bit wide variables, like int, float, etc. A 64-bit variable like double requires 2 registers, when used.

A variable will occupy a register when it is actually being used for calculations. At other points during your kernel execution it might occupy a register, or it might not. Some of this is due to the compiler optimizing things, and reusing registers, and some of this is due to the fact that local variables, at least, may be temporarily stored in device memory, not in a register, subject to compiler decisions. There are numerous forum questions discussing these topics.