Unspecified launch failure strange error, please help

hello,

i am very new to CUDA, so my apologies if my problem is obvious. i’ve been just getting familiar with cuda, and life was good until i started getting this “'unspecified launch error”. i’ve narrowed the problem down to 2 sections of code…if i uncomment either section it errors out and (sometimes) requires a hard reboot.

i’ve marked the problem sections with a ‘// <-------------’

// performs ray-sphere intersection

__device__ float getSphereIntersection(float3 *rayPos, float3 *rayDir, float3 *sPos, float sRadius) {

float retVal = NO_INTERSECTION;

float a, b, c, root, omega1, omega2;

normalizeRay(rayPos, rayDir);

float x = rayPos->x;

float y = rayPos->y;

float z = rayPos->z;

float sphereX = sPos->x;

float sphereY = sPos->y;

float sphereZ = sPos->z;

float dx = rayDir->x;

float dy = rayDir->y;

float dz = rayDir->z;

a = (dx * dx) + (dy * dy) + (dz * dz);

b = 2 * (dx * (x  - sphereX) + dy * (y - sphereY) + dz * (z - sphereZ));

c = (x - sphereX) * (x - sphereX) + (y - sphereY) * (y - sphereY) + (z - sphereZ) * (z - sphereZ) -

sRadius * sRadius;

root = b*b - 4*c;

// no intersection

if (root < 0) {

retVal = NO_INTERSECTION;

}

if (root == 0) {

//retVal = -b + sqrtf(root)/2;

//return -b;                                    //   <-------------

} 

if (root > 0) {

root = sqrtf(root);

omega1 = (-b + root)/(2);

omega2 = (-b - root)/(2);

// .01 to allow for error

/*if ((omega1 < 0.01) && (omega2 < 0.01) ){  //   <-------------

}else if( (omega2 < .01 || omega1 <= omega2) && (omega1 > 0.01)){

retVal = omega1;

}else if( (omega1 < .01 || omega2 <= omega1) && (omega2 > 0.01)){

retVal = omega2;

}

*/

}

return retVal;

}

let me know if more code is required. any help would be greatly appreciated!