Using 2D array in CUDA

Hi all! I am new to CUDA. Can any of you give me an example of how to access the member elements of a 2D array which I declared using cudaMallocPitch? I have tried using:

cudaMallocPitch(&dev_arr,&pitch_arr,colsizesizeof(int),rowsize);
cudaMemcpy2D(dev_arr,pitch_arr,host_arr,colsize
sizeof(int),colsize*sizeof(int),rowsize,cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

for(int i=0;i<rowsize;i++)
{
int *row = (int *)((char )dev_arr+pitch_arri);
for(int j=0;j<colsize;j++)
{
int sample = row[j];
}
}

But this does not run. It returns error code 77. Can you please point out error/mistake in the above code snippet?

Thanks in advance!

CUDA arrays are opaque objects on the GPU, with data being reordered using a proprietary space filling curve.

http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-c-programming-guide/#axzz3fmjw7brr

The only way to access the values on the device would be by binding the CUDA array to a surface or texture. Surfaces also allow write access (without cache coherence), as far as I know.

NOTE: only a CUDA array created with the cudaArraySurfaceLoadStore flag, can be read and written via a surface object or surface reference.

EDIT: hmm, after looking at your code again I notice you indeed use 2D pitched memory, not cudaArrays. Hence please disregard what I wrote above.

1 Like

You should provide a short, complete code if you want help.

Thank you all for your views.

Here is a sample code, similar to which I am working on.

void main()
 {
	 int connrow=8,conncol=7;
	 int **CONNEC; //connrow*conncol 2D matrix-- sample values given below
	 SOLVE(CONNEC,connrow,conncol);
	 return;
 }

cudaError_t SOLVE(int **CONNEC,int connrow,int conncol)
 {
	 cudaError_t cudaStatus;
	 int *dev_CONNEC;
	 size_t pitch_CONNEC;
	cudaMallocPitch(&dev_CONNEC,&pitch_CONNEC,conncol*sizeof(int),connrow);
	cudaMemcpy2D(dev_CONNEC,pitch_CONNEC,CONNEC,conncol*sizeof(int),conncol*sizeof(int),connrow,cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);
        //Usually I find pitch_CONNEC=512