Using BlockIdx As An Index

Newbie here, so please be gentle.

I am using CUDA 7.5 with a GTX 760 programming in C++.

I am launching a kernel like this:

kernel<<<2,1024>>>(parameters);

Based on this, I would expect that two blocks of 1024 threads each should be launched.
Further, within each block, the threads should be numbered 0-1023.

Thus, for the call above, I should have:
blockIdx.x = 0, threadIdx,x = 0;
blockIdx.x = 1, threadIdx.x = 0;

However, when I run this with the kernel call as above, I never see a blockIdx.x that is anything other than 0.

Why is that?

Because you’ve made a mistake of some sort. It’s notoriously difficult to debug code that you can’t see.

As a relatively simple starting point, make sure you have no CUDA runtime errors (google “proper cuda error checking” and take the first hit) and also run your code with cuda-memcheck

After that, provide a simple reproducer. If the problem can be deduced from the amount of information you have provided. then a simple reproducer should be trivial to create. A kernel call, with a single printf statement in it, and nearly nothing in terms of host code except the kernel call and a cudaDeviceSynchronize statement.

I claim this test case matches the information you have provided, but it does not reproduce the issue you describe:

$ cat t97.cu
#include <stdio.h>

__global__ void kernel(){

if (threadIdx.x == 0) printf("I am thread 0 in block %d\n", blockIdx.x);
}

int main(){

kernel<<<2,1024>>>();
  cudaDeviceSynchronize();
}

$ nvcc -arch=sm_30 -o t97 t97.cu
$ cuda-memcheck ./t97
========= CUDA-MEMCHECK
I am thread 0 in block 0
I am thread 0 in block 1
========= ERROR SUMMARY: 0 errors
$

Feel free to run this code on your system. Feel free to modify it if necessary to produce the observation that you are confused about. Feel free to post a full test case like I have above, with a description of the observation that you don’t understand.

I suppose I deserved to be thrashed for that.