Using cuda for solving metallurgical simulation it's a matallurgical program for simulating

My Name is Saeed Mohammadi. I’m a C++ programmer and beginner in CUDA. I’m working on a simulating program for simulating the Solidification process in Metallurgy. Here, we have a completed program which is working correctly. As we found the CUDA on nVidia web site, we started discussing about how we can increase the performance!

I have a 3D array of x, y, and z which are in arbitrary size. The size of (xyz) is usually large. I have some arrays for saving the “Temperature of the point(x, y, z)”, “Material ID”, and some parameters such as “NewTemperature”, “K”, “Ro”, “Cp”, “Fs”, and etc. Some of these arrays are made at first and used in the program but some of them are made at first but must be changed many times. Also I have some other parameters that must be generated during the execution. In our CPU-Based program, we have a while and loop like this :

[codebox]

while(maxTemp<540)

{	

for( z;  z < limit.z  ;  z+=direction.z)

{

for( x; x < limit.x ; x+= direction.x)

{

for( y; y < limit.y ; y+= direction.y)

{

//starting the process to find the maxTemp

}

//changing the direction of y

}

//changing the direction of x

}

//changing the direction of z

}

[/codebox]

What is the goal?

In this simulation we have a mold which is turned to a mesh with x, y, and z. we are looking to find out when the cast’s temperature reduces to 540c. Only the non-boundary position could be in the process, so x=0 and x=limit are not involved. For an any internal position like (x, y, z), we have 6 neighbor, for example: x+1, x-1, y+1, y-1, z+1, z-1