Using cudaHostRegister()?

I’ve been trying to implement a basic vector add using CUDA C, and I was playing around with using the cudaHostRegister() function to get a feel for how to use mapped pinned memory. However, it seems like there are either some race conditions I didn’t account for, or I don’t fully understand how the mapping works. The code typically works fine for N < 100, but for higher N, it consistently gives me c[i] = 0 for all i. Here’s a pastebin with the code in question. Thanks! http://pastebin.com/p92nbQZW

In case it’s relevant (I’m new to CUDA), my compiler commands are:
nvcc -std=c++11 -c -o vec.o vec.cu
nvcc -std=c++11 -o vec vec.o

GPU kernel launches are asynchronous. This means control is returned to the host thread immediately, without waiting for the kernel to begin executing, or completing. When using ordinary device memory, this would be less of an issue for this case, since you would immediately follow the kernel call with a cudaMemcpy operation, to copy the data back to the host, and this operation is blocking/synchronizing. That means that the operation will not begin until all previous CUDA activity (e.g. the kernel) is complete, and it will not return control to the host thread until the data copy operation is complete.

All that is out the window when you use host-mapped memory (since you have no requirement to use cudaMemcpy). So you need to synchronize the host thread, so that it does not begin checking the results until the kernel operation is complete.

So put a cudaDeviceSynchronize() call in right after the kernel call. I think you’ll get better results.

Thanks. I completely forgot that kernel launches were asynchronous, and that addition seems to address at least part of the problem. However, for higher N (N > 10k now, instead of N > 100), the assertion still fails (typically at i = 1 with c[1] = 0 instead of 1). Any ideas?