Utilization of SMs in a GPU

I am a CUDA newbie and looking into running multiple applications together on a GPU.
From the readings what I understand is NVIDIA does not advice running multiple applications
on the GPU (although CUDA driver manages to run them) since
a ) Applications do not have knowledge about each other’s context
b ) Architectures upto G280 do not support concurrent kernel / (application ) execution

Taking this into consideration , what happens if few Streaming Multiprocessors are not being
used if an application is already running on the GPU? Can we detect this condition and run other applications on those idle SMs?
(Although did not see this feature in the CUDA programming model)

Actually, running multiple applications has worked for a long time on every CUDA compute capability. Note that all CUDA GPUs, including Fermi, interleave execution of kernels from different contexts. At no time do kernels from different contexts (which includes different applications) run on the device simultaneously. When you run a GUI on your GPU, that also is treated as a CUDA context of sorts, which is why a long running kernel can make your display appear to freeze. Every context gets total control of all SMs when the context is active.

The reasons NVIDIA discourage multiple applications using the same GPU include:

• Buggy drivers in the past could potentially cause crashes during frequent GPU context switching. This has been resolved, as far as I know.

• In a multi-user system (a common use case for multi-application execution), there is no graceful degradation as users exhaust the GPU memory. If one user takes all the device memory, the second user will just see their application abort until the first user’s application exits or they free the memory.