Why this kernel hangs?

Hi everybody,
can anyone tell me, why computer hangs up whith this code?
Be carefull with testing, I need hard reset on my GeForce 8400M GS + Ubuntu 8.04,
compiling simply nvcc -arch=sm_11 green.cu
What feature I’ve met?

Regards,
Sergiy

device int volatile green=0;
global void kernel(void){
while(green != threadIdx.x);
//critical section
++green; // green light for next thread;
}

int main(void){
kernel<<<1,2>>>();
}

Not sure why it hangs, but I am fairly sure the second thread will never execute.

First thread goes throw code,

global variable “green” becomes one,

the second thread should execute.

Where is my misunderstanding?

Regards,

Sergiy

First let me say I’m just a newbie. Now, I see a major problem when all the threads try to access the same variable at once (since its volatile). Say you have 1000 threads trying all to read the same variable. There’s no guarantee that thread 0 will even get a chance to read it, because each other thread will try to read it and once a thread successfully reads the variable he will just try to read it again and again and again … I think I made my point.

Not sure why it hangs, but this seems to fix it:

__device__ int green=0;

__global__ void hangkernel(void){

while (green != threadIdx.x);

//critical section

atomicAdd(&green, 1);

}

It works… But what does it mean?

1. Volatile not works, read access is buffered?

2. Write is blocked while read is active?

3. Atomic has side effect for warp recalculation?

4. …?

It’s architectural question, code example is derived from very complex algorithm.

I cannot find any document about GPU memory organization.

CUDA IS THE CLOSEST ARCHITECTURE I EVER SEEN.

SUITABLE ONLY FOR VECTOR SUM, NOT MORE.

Regards,

Sergiy

One should know what he does and how things work before blaiming 3rd party or other tools.

The global add probably solved the problem because you caused some kind of deadlock/race condition etc…