advice needed by a PhD student

Hi,

I am a Economics graduate student who is working on computationally intensive project. Normally, I have access to a cluster to use MPI, but for this project I am restricted to a single computer with no internet connection due to data privacy agreements.

My project requires likelihood estimation of dynamic programming model, which involves an outer loop to search for a maximum of a (numerical, not analytical) function and an inner loop that creates that function via solving a series of Bellman equations via backwards recursion for a very large set of values.

People normally uses cluster with MPI to handle the computational burden of this problem, but being stuck on a dual core desktop, I am looking a way out of waiting a month for a single run to finish. The problem is I have to do this a number of times, so speed is of the essence.

then, I heard about CUDA and thought “here is my ticket out of this”. Also seems to be great investment for the future. But there are some problems: (1) I don’t know C/C++, just fortran, matlab etc. (2) I am very poor and don’t have a grant to buy a 5000 machine. I don’t think I can afford a tesla, maybe a 300-400 dollars GTX XXX. Or I can’t purchase the PGI cuda fortran. (3) I don’t have too much time to do and learn things.

I (desperately) need some advice on the feasibility of this via cuda. Here are my questions, anything you can chime in, I’d be grateful:

1- The jump from fortran to cuda c/c++, from CPU to GPU computing: how hard is this? especially thinking about the engineering of an hybrid code that is optimal on multicore/GPU machine for someone who wrote only 2k-3k lines of code at most.
2- Is PGI fortran route better? I don’t have money to buy it but maybe I can beg around to them or my faculty to get some help, if it is worth it.