Bandwidth & Kernel problems: performance degredation.

Hey folks,

I’m rather new to CUDA so as expected I’m running in to a few problems (hopefully minor).

I have a kernel which simply does a set amount of floating point operations and records the min, max and mean GLFOPS of each kernel run. Here is what the kernel was originally:

template <int REP>

__global__ void mykernel(float * __restrict__ a, int reps) {

int idx = blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

float r = a[idx];

#pragma unroll

for (int n=0;n<REP;n++) {

r = 0.0001f+r*1.00002f; // nb. the "f"s are very important!

}

a[idx] = r; // copy result from local to global memory

}

With this we got some pretty nice results (using Nvidia GTX 480 cards).

With ~7680 threads, a kernel doing 5000 FLOPS/thread gave us an average of about 1050 GLFOPS.

However the problem is, when we tried different memory layout patterns, the performance degraded vastly.

Here is an example of a new kernel we tried:

template <int REP>

__global__ void mykernel(float * __restrict__ a, int reps) {

int idx = blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

float r = a[idx]; // copy data from global to local memory (ie. to a register)

float s = a[N+idx];

float t = a[(2*N)+idx];

#pragma unroll

for (int n=0;n<REP;n++) {

r = 0.0001f+r*1.00002f; // nb. the "f"s are very important!

s = 0.0001f+s*1.00002f;

t = 0.0001f+t*1.00002f;

}

a[idx] = r; // copy result from local to global memory

a[N+idx] = s;

a[(2*N)+idx] = t;

}

It’s basically the same kernel but now operating on 3 floats instead of 1.

The calculations my supervisor made showed that this new kernel was operating with a bandwidth of around 2.4 to 2.6 GB/s (don’t worry, he gave the ok to put this stuff on this forum and I may have worded some stuff incorrectly but oh well!).