Big newbie having questions about GPU computing

Hello everybody!!

I’m new in GPU computing, and i have some questions about compile.

So i downloaded a few days ago all the libraries needed to progamm in CUDA. So i took my time to read the documentation which comes with donwloaded application, but there is only one thing that i did not understand : how do i compile? As i’ve understood, i must use nvcc, but where should i place the .cu files to be compiled, at what command should i type, to obtain the .exe ? Is it “nvcc file_name.cu -cuda” ?

I would also like to now why my board is not detected by CUDA? I run on a FX5200. Could it be because of the drivers?

So i hope you guys will help me because, beacause i’m really blocked.

You need a G80-class GPU to run cuda, an FX5200 is not going to work.

To compile, nvcc file.cu will generate an executable a.out.
If you want to generate an executable with a different name “name_exec” ,
nvcc -o name_exec file.cu is the right command

Thats really sad. I wanted so to develop a little in CUDA. Will there be any support of the 7-th, 6-th and 5-th series ?

I have another question. Where must i put files that should be compiled? In the same folder than nvcc.exe ?

CUDA requires a very different organization of GPU hardware than was used in the past, so it is almost certainly impossible to support anything before the G80. If you want to try out GPU computing on your existing hardware, I would suggest taking a look at BrookGPU: http://graphics.stanford.edu/projects/brookgpu/

BrookGPU runs on older ATI and NVIDIA cards. While not as flexible or as well-documented as CUDA, BrookGPU does let you experiment with data-parallel processing on a graphics card. I used BrookGPU on the GeForce 7 series before getting a 8800 GTX and switching to CUDA.