Block/threads and stuff...

Hi all,
I’m new to nVidia and have a couple of question, which I couldnt find answer for in the CUDA docs.

1. I understand that a block can have at most 512 threads. So why is the limit
    on a dim3 block is 512 x 512 x 64 ?
  2. What mostly controls the performance of the GPU? should I strive to have
    as many blocks as possible? or as many threads?
  3. Should the kernel methods be as compact and simple as possible in order to gain as much performance?

thanks
eyal

you can have a block of (1,512,1) if it is convenient. Or (4,4,64). It is just a matter of what is convenient for you in your code (no need to calculate indices in a cumbersome way)

that depends. If you use shared memory, it can be that as many threads per block as possible makes extra efficient use of the shared memory.

In general you can say, have each thread do as little work as possible, and have lots of threads (spread over a lot of blocks). A large number of blocks helps to enable your code to scale good on future GPU’s

That really depends on your problem. Most of the times, kernels are bound by memory-bandwidth. That means that if you can read & write less data by doing more calculations, you may end up with a faster kernel. But if your kernel starts to use a lot of registers, you get low occupancy which may lead to more trouble with latency.

Unfortunately, I must say, that after 1 year doing CUDA stuff, I still find myself mis-predicting performance when I try to optimize things. Often trying things in different ways and benchmarking is the only way to go.

Hi,
Thanks a lot for the fast answer.
One more question please (at least for the time being :) )
If i create a grid of 65K * 65K blocks each with 512 threads that a hugh number
of threads. Now on regular CPU there’s not much point in creating more threads
then the number of cores. How does the GPU manages such an amount of blocks
and threads?
Is it reasonable to create 65K * 65K of blocks?