cant understand this performance hit

Hi,

I am confused by the following problem (I am new to CUDA):

I have the following host code (Windows Xp 32 bit, Nvidia GTX 295, Visual Studio 2008):

dim3 dimBlock(400,1,1);
dim3 dimGrid(10,1,1);
for (i=2;i<2*N-1;i++)
{
if (i<=N)
{
low_j = 1;
high_j= i-1;
}
else
{
low_j = i-N+1;
high_j = N-1;
}
kernel<<<dimGrid,dimBlock>>>(d_Psi,i,low_j,high_j,2);
}

the kernel is
global void kernel(double Psi,int i,int low_j,int high_j,int l)
{
int j = low_j + blockIdx.x
blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

if (j<=high_j)
{
	int oldi= (i-j);
	double u=oldi*Deltau;
	double v = j*Deltav;
	int index1=oldi*N+j;
	int index2=oldi*N+j-N;
	int index3=oldi*N+j-1;
	int index4 = oldi*N+j-1-N;

double rstar = (v-u)/2.0;
	double rcoord = r(rstar);			

//compute Psi_N
	//find next point in diamond
	Psi[index1]=Psi[index2]+Psi[index3]-Psi[index4]-Deltau*Deltav*(Psi[index3]+Psi[index2])/8.0;
}

}

This code runs about 5 times slower than a CPU version. However if I change the kernel variable oldi from i-j to i, it runs 10-100 times faster than the CPU version. Why is that? How can I make it run as fast using i-j rather than i?

Thanks

deb

Hi,

The psi[index1] = psi[index2]… is obviously not coalesced - you should either load things into shared memory or use textures.

As for the oldi change, I guess when you change it to i only - this makes the indexes and thus the memory access pattern fixed for all threads within the block.

This has the effect of the entire block only doing one (or few: index2, index3, index4…) global memory accesses via broadcasting, instead of many un-coallesced accesses.

eyal

Thanks Eyal. Yes you are most likely right with the need for loading onto shared/texture memory as far as the array access, but I still get the hit when I change the kernel to the following

global void kernel(double *Psi,int i,int low_j,int high_j,int l)

{

int j = low_j + blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

if (j<=high_j)

{

int oldi= (i-j);