Coalescing - beginner question

Hello,

I’m a beginner in CUDA and I have a question :

My (simplified) kernel :

__global__ void mykernel(float* out, float* in) {

int idx = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

out[idx] = in[idx] + in[idx + 1];

}

cudaprof tells me that the accesses are not coalesced, and I found it comes from “in[indx + 1]” by commenting this code.

I can’t understand why this is not coalesced… ! (since consecutive threads access consecutive data)

Any idea ?

Thanks !

Technically, coalescing also has an alignment requirement. What is the compute capability of your device? That will determine how much you need to worry about this.

I know that misalignment require an additional load for 1.3. However, in the CUDA profiler text mode, I get gld_incoherent = [0] for TS’s first example. However, the GPU kernel time does increase about 25% going from aligned vector addition to misligned. Why doesn’t the gld_incoherent parameter intercept this?

I believe the gld_incoherent and gst_incoherent counters are only applicable on Compute 1.0/1.1 hardware. They don’t work on GT200 or Fermi.

So what are the alternatives?

I believe that it is replaced with gld_32b, gld_64b and gld_128b. Misaligning your read should increase one of those counters.

To be more clear about the original problem: regardless of coalescing, this kernel would be a good candidate for use of shared memory to reduce the repetitive loading. (You read every element twice from global memory, when you should only need to read it once.)

This kernel will run a little more than twice as slow as a shared memory version on capability 1.2 and 1.3, and many, many times slower on compute capability 1.0 and 1.1. I think the cache on compute capability 2.0 means the kernel will run nearly full speed without shared memory.

These work with 1.3. But not with 2.0 I believe.

1 NV_Warning: Ignoring the invalid profiler config option: gld_32b