Cross compile TX2 kernel failed

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner with Jetson.
I am trying to modify and compile the Kernel for Jetson TX2. But I think I am facing a toolchain issue.
I’ve followed the instructions on documentation but I think I’ve done something wrong…
Could someone help me ?

– Error
@:~/nvidia/kernel/kernel-4.4$ sudo make O=$TKO ARCH=arm64 zImage
CHK include/config/kernel.release
CHK include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h
CHK include/generated/utsrelease.h
make[1]: ‘include/generated/mach-types.h’ is up to date.
CC kernel/bounds.s
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option ‘-mlittle-endian’
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option ‘-mgeneral-regs-only’

– I have CROSS_COMPILE variable
:~/nvidia/kernel/kernel-4.4$ echo $CROSS_COMPILE
/home/guillaume/nvidia/install/bin/aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-

Thanks in advance,

Guillaume

For reference, which L4T version is on the Jetson? See “head -n 1 /etc/nv_tegra_release” and “uname -r”.

Much of what you have is correct, but did you configure prior to running the build command? The best starting config is if you take a running unmodified TX2 and copy “/proc/config.gz” to your host in a safe place. Then copy this to the “$TKO”, gunzip it, rename it to “.config”, and edit “CONFIG_LOCALVERSION” in that to match the current “uname -r” suffix; so the edit would probably would be this result:

CONFIG_LOCALVERSION="-tegra"

Once that is in place you can make edits, e.g.:

make O=$TKO nconfig

…then build as you did above. I would avoid the “defconfig” method of setting initial config if you can avoid it.

NOTE: Many config editors require having package “libncurses5-dev” installed:

sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev

Thank you for answering me.

My Tegra version is 4.4.38-tegra
Yes, I defined the CROSS_COMPILE before to build the kernel.
I followed your method… Same error…

CC      kernel/bounds.s
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option ‘-mlittle-endian’; did you mean ‘-fconvert=little-endian’?