CUDA Education How best to progress with learning CUDA

Hello,

I’ve been trying to learn CUDA and have watched the webcasts and the excellent Dr Wen-mei W. Hwu stuff.

However I don’t really have any applications in mind at present and am not sure how best to progress.

I’m an experienced programmer and have a bachelors level education in computer science and am trying to improve my math.

Does anyone have any advice on how to learn CUDA / parallel programming / HPC ?

Are there any good books with exercises for CUDA ?

Are there any good short courses ?

I have considered an MSc but I’m no spring chicken :)

thanks

David

Take one of the CUDA SDK samples and modify it thoroughly. e.g swap out an image processing algorithm against another - the SDK code gives you an instant visual feedback on your results.

Or pick up one of the “contest ideas” from the dedicated CUDA contest forum and try to make it happen.

Or take someone’s failed CUDA attempt (that was posted with source code in the forums) and make it run… and make it run fast.

Or take an existing open sourced application…and try to accelerate it with CUDA.

Christian

Ive started with the programming guide and the simpler examples from the SDK. It took me quite a while to “get” it all, but its possible that way. The U. Illinoi course helped too.
If you do not know about parallel programming at all, “Parallel Programming: Techniques and Applications Using Networked Workstations and Parallel Computers” got me through my BA class, but i dont think its the best book out there. I didnt find it particularly fantastic… but it did the job.

I believe there will be some pre conference tutorials at the upcoming nvidia gpu computing conference at the end of september, but its in san jose so quite a way from you.