CUDA Kernel does not do anything

HI all,
I’m new to cuda programming, and I’m facing something really weird. I have an image with a size of Pz*Px. For each pixel, I need to do some processings. So, first, I define followings:

dim3 block(Px, Pz);
dim3 grid(1);

The weird thing is that when Pz and Px are equal to 32, all works fine, but when they are 64 (or even bigger), then the Kernel does not get launched. I thought that maybe the indexing inside the kernel is causing a problem. So, I removed my processing in the kernel and just printf some words. Still, all works fine for Pz=Px=32, but the Kernel does not work (does not even get launched) for Pz=Px=64. Any idea what is going on?

Regards,

Moein.

Add proper CUDA error checking. If you don’t know what that is, Google for exactly those terms. Also, run your executable under the control of cuda-memcheck and address all issues it reports.

Note that kernel-side printf() prints into a transfer buffer for output by the host. Make sure to flush the buffer with a call to cudaDeviceSynchronize() prior to terminating your program.

CUDA has limits to the total number of threads per block, which is the product of the individual dimensions. This limit is 1024, so 32*32 = 1024 and won’t cause a problem. Larger numbers there will.

The proper error checking will tend to draw your attention to the problem.

Thank you for your help. The problem is solved now. I have faced another problem though:

i have created a visual studio project and now all works fine. I have a .exe file which takes some parameters as input and do the same computation in CPU and GPU for comparison. While this .exe file works on my personal laptop, the GPU part does not work on my office PC (the CPU part works well, but when the program starts the GPU, it crashes). what is the problem here? this .exe file should work on every PC with GPU, right?

Regards,
Moein.