cudaMalloc corrupts openGL graphics display

I am new to CUDA and am relearning C++, so please forgive me for any non-technical noob jargon.

I am working on a model that simulates plant (biomass) growth using simple differential equations. One of them includes diffusing the biomass density and nutrient density, which is what I’ve shown below. I am having a problem with the graphics (using openGL) and cudaMalloc getting along. If I declare all of the constants used by a kernel inside of that kernel, it works fine but is inefficient and slow. If I declare all of my constants on the host then use cudaMalloc and cudaMemCpy to get them onto the device, the math works (I’m passing in what I expect to) but the output display is getting corrupted. I’ve posted some code snippets and .png images to illustrate what I’m doing and what the outcome is.

This code works fine (but slow):

__global__ void

d_diffuse_tex(float *grid, float *ftemp, int w, int h, float dt, float hh, unsigned int TextureFlag, unsigned int nSpecies)

{  

int x = blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

int y = blockIdx.y*blockDim.y + threadIdx.y;

if (TextureFlag == 1) /*---------- Diffuse biomass ----------*/

{

float alpha[10];			// Diffusion coefficients for biomass

alpha[0] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 1

alpha[1] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 2

alpha[2] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 3

alpha[3] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 4

alpha[4] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 5

alpha[5] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 6

alpha[6] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 7

alpha[7] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 8

alpha[8] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 9

alpha[9] = 0.005479f;		// Diffusion coefficient for species 10		

if (nSpecies == 1)

{