Current best practices for controling global memory updates

Hello,

I am relatively new to CUDA and I hope this question isn’t inappropriate.

I am curious if an established best practice exists for limiting the times a value contained in global memory gets updated. For example, if a global variable is initially set to zero one might imagine a kernel method that reduces the number of times an update of a global variable takes place to look something like…

if(global_var[i] == 0 && new_value != 0)
{
global_var[i] = new_value;
}

And if that this flow control was hit many times that one could use a shared memory variable to help reduce the likelihood of global values being read or written to many many times…

if(i < n)
{
shared_copy[tx] = global_var[i];
}

… then later use the shared value for flow control…

if(shared_copy[tx] == 0 && new_value != 0)
{
global_var[i] = new_value;
}

My question is: after testing code similar to this it is clear that this flow control method doesn’t work - but do other methods exist?

Your question is slightly confusing.

Are you asking whether a bunch of warps are addressing the same global variable at the same time run into a conflict and how to resolve that?

Or are you asking how to reduce the number of times you change a global variable?

That being said, a kernel should only ever interact with a global variable/vector once. Either when loading that data into the shared space, or moving it from the shared space into global. (Assuming you have the shared space to hold the global data.)

If you are talking about addressing the same global variable over the span of multiple warps you should look into atomic operations so that you don’t run into any data race conditions.

Good luck,

BHa

*As a note, I mainly code for OpenCL but have a general knowledge of CUDA and the similarities between the two. If I said something incorrectly regarding CUDA please let me know and I’ll alter my post for that.

BHa,