Deep copy complex object from device to host

Hello, I’m new to CUDA programming and I’m trying to figure out how to copy a complex object from the device to the host.
I have an object CUDAPopulation that needs to do some computation on the device.

CUDAPopulation.h:

class CUDAPopulation {
public:
    CUDAGenome **individuals;

CUDAPopulation(unsigned int popSize, unsigned int genNum, Objective obj = MAXIMIZE);

private:
    // Performs fitness-proportionate selection to get an individual from the population.
    __device__ CUDAGenome *select();
    // Scales the individuals' scores to fitnesses.
    __device__ void scale();
    // Implements ascending odd-even transposition sort on the individuals of the population.
    __device__ void sort();
};

// Perform an avaluation on the elements of the given population.
__global__ void evaluate(CUDAPopulation *pop);

// Perform an evolution step (selection, crossover, mutation, replacement) on the given population.
__global__ void step(CUDAPopulation *pop);

I allocate the object on the device like so:

// Create the population object on the host.
    CUDAPopulation *population = new CUDAPopulation(popSize, genNumber, CUDAPopulation::MINIMIZE);

// Allocate the population on the device.
    CUDAPopulation *d_pop;
    cudaMalloc(&d_pop, sizeof(CUDAPopulation));
    cudaMemcpy(d_pop, population, sizeof(CUDAPopulation), cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

Then I dinamically allocate individuals calling a kernel that helps me implement polymorphism in CUDA code and run the computation:

dim3 gridSize(popSize);
    dim3 blockSize(checksNumber);
    createCUDAPathGenomePopulation<<<gridSize, 1>>>(d_pop, d_checks, checksNumber);

for (unsigned int i = 0; i < genNumber; i++) {
        evaluate<<<gridSize, blockSize>>>(d_pop);
        cudaDeviceSynchronize();
        step<<<gridSize, blockSize>>>(d_pop);
        cudaDeviceSynchronize();
    }