DLI course on DeepStream SDK: Pad Question

Full disclosure, I’m not a programming whiz, but I really want to learn DeepStream. I’ve got my nano and media player all set up, and have been able to compile and run the demos, so everything’s working. But I don’t really understand, in the first example, deepstream_test1_app.c, how the elements are “connected”.

The design itself consists of 13 GstElements:

*pipeline = NULL,
*source = NULL,
*h264parser = NULL,
*decoder = NULL,
*streammux = NULL,
*sink = NULL,
*pgie = NULL,
*nvvidconv = NULL,
*nvosd = NULL,
*encoder = NULL,
*rtppay = NULL,
*transform = NULL,
*cap_filter = NULL;

From the documentation I would expect each of them to have a sink and a source. But the code only puts a sinkpad and srcpad on the streammux and decoder. Why just those two elements?

Then it links the elements together in two different gst_element_link_many function calls. Why not just do one?

I surfed the Gstreamer documentation, but I’m still confused. Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Here’s the two relevant blocks of code.

Note there’s only two pads:

gst_bin_add_many (GST_BIN (pipeline),
      source, h264parser, decoder, streammux, pgie,
      nvvidconv, nvosd, transform, cap_filter, encoder, rtppay, sink, NULL);

GstPad *sinkpad, *srcpad;
  gchar pad_name_sink[16] = "sink_0";
  gchar pad_name_src[16] = "src";

sinkpad = gst_element_get_request_pad (streammux, pad_name_sink);
  if (!sinkpad) {
    g_printerr ("Streammux request sink pad failed. Exiting.\n");
    return -1;
  }

srcpad = gst_element_get_static_pad (decoder, pad_name_src);
  if (!srcpad) {
    g_printerr ("Decoder request src pad failed. Exiting.\n");
    return -1;
  }

if (gst_pad_link (srcpad, sinkpad) != GST_PAD_LINK_OK) {
      g_printerr ("Failed to link decoder to stream muxer. Exiting.\n");
      return -1;
  }

gst_object_unref (sinkpad);
  gst_object_unref (srcpad);

And here’s where it’s linking two gropus, instead of one big group.