Encoding USB camera stream to h.264 or h.265

Hello,

I`m considering using Jetson Nano for my future project. Finally one affordable computer from Nvidia that looks very promising.
However first I would like to know if Jetson Nano is capable of encoding 1080p30fps video from USB camera (in Raw, YUV or MJPEG format) to H.264 or H.265 for real-time streaming?

My project:

I need video feed from my drones USB camera to be streamed in real-time over internet (web browser based interface for operator).
I need as little latency as possible, below 200 ms or so. Encoding should be done by GPU or hardware encoder (if Jetson Nano has one) because I don`t want to put that extra load on CPU.

Is that feasible with Jetson Nano?

I have no previous experience with Nvidia single-board computers.
Thanks.

1 Like

Hi syvva, yes this is possible, Jetson Nano has a hardware video encoder and decoder. Recommend looking at the L4T Accelerated GStreamer User Guide for examples:

[url]https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/dlc/l4t-accelerated-gstreamer-guide-32-1[/url]

Hi dusty_nv,

That is great. Will try Jetson Nano.
Thanks for the examples.

Hi @syvva,

Thanks for your asking this question because I have similar query. Have you found solution to your problem? If yes, could your share at least a snippet of your code of h.265 encoding!

Thank you

Hi @jaiforfriend @syvva

I have exactly the same needs as both of you !

Could you share with me your solution ?
It would be really great !! :)

Thx

1 Like

Hi jaiforfriend and coderoom.fleury,

Good to know that I`m not the only one wanting to do this.
Unfortunately I have not started writing code yet because I decided to design custom ESC and a new controller board for my drone. Still developing this hardware.
I wanted to get quick heads up with my question to make sure Jetson Nano is up for the task.
Please let me know if you find the solution before I do.