Error Checking and Correction

Hi,

I was wondering if there is any error checking or error correction in GPUs, to insure consistent results? I would guess that this isn’t an important feature for graphics, so I’m wondering if it is omitted.

I am pretty sure they don’t do any ECC on their GDDR RAM on the consumer boards because of the extra costs involved.

For certain kinds of scientific calculations one might perform some manual consistency checking, for example checking for conservation of momentum and energy in N-body simulations - but that adds extra overhead.

Thanks for the reply cbuchner1

When you say consumer products would this include the Telsa range?

I have no in-depth knowledge about the difference between Tesla and the consumer graphics boards. All I know is that they usually have more memory on board. Whether there are any other subtle differences besides the missing DVI/VGA ports, I cannot say.

I don’t know what the details of what the hardware does or does not do for error checking, but I can offer anecdotal evidence. My app is an n-body type simulation usually run for millions of steps, the soluntions are chaotic meaning that even a 1-bit change in the lowest precision bit of a floating point value will lead to drastically different (though statistically similar) results after only a few thousand steps. I have never noticed such a difference on the GPU. Every single repeat run from the same initial conditions I’ve checked is bit for bit equal to the others. I’ve seen this behavior on both Tesla and 8800 GTX.

Overclocked GPUs are another story. I usually get crashes or NaN results within a few 1000 steps, which I presume is due to occasional bit errors that wouldn’t effect gaming as you say. But in an app where the kernel loops over a value read from memory, a 1-bit error can turn that loop into a infinite loop and an apparent crash.