Error when trying to run Jetson TX2

Hello,

When trying to run my Jetson TX2 on my monitor I get the error “cp: not running through dangling symlink etc/resolv.conf” with a series of lines underneath (I have attached an image of what the full error looks like). I have looked into downloading ubuntu 18.04 onto a flash drive and putting it in but haven’t made any progress on how to do it. I am a complete beginner and have little to no knowledge.

Thank you.

Is this your first time using this TX2 or it has been used for a while?

No its been used before, not by me

Basically, current situation is just the desktop GUI fails to launch so you only see some kernel log printed on screen.

There are some options here

1. Enable the console and operate the console. I will guide you to check some logs but don’t guarantee it will100% come back to work.

2. Directly reflash the board with another x86 PC. The data will be gone but the board would come back and you won’t need to check log as (1).

So it depends on you for what to do here.

I think the first option will be better I dont want to lose any of the data there.

Ok, a cable is required here to dump the log as below tutorial.

I dont have these cables at the moment could you just walk me through
second option of reflashing?

For second option, prepare a x86 host PC with native ubuntu 18.04 (prevent to be a VM).

Install sdkmanager on this host PC first.

And then connect micro usb port of jetson to your host PC.

Put the TX2 into recovery mode and check lsusb command on your host. If there is “NVIDIA corp” then start sdkmanager. Sdkmanager shall detected your board and just follow the GUI step by step to flash the board.

The method to put board into recover mode (RCM).

1. Remove the power cable
  2. Plug the cable back (as tx2 does not have auto start, your board shall still not power on)
  3. Press and hold the recovery button
  4. Press and release the power button
  5. release the recovery button