First time Jetson TX2 User - A few questions

Hi all,

Basically I have a client who is using a Jetson TX2 device for their product, and unfortunately I could not personally build / deploy to the device as I am not in the same location.

What would be the best option for me to be able to build and deploy to the Jetson device remotely?

I am very new to this - I just started last month with the device - and would love to get some pointers into the right direction.

Looking forward for some answers / help, thanks.

Just some comments to aid, not necessarily an answer.

Each Jetson has a possible release version. The L4T release version can be found via:

head -n 1 /etc/nv_tegra_release

There are many partitions in the eMMC, but only one is the root file system (rootfs). You cannot mix and match a rootfs from a different L4T version versus the other partitions. Those other partitions are for booting, the rootfs is the end user file system. You need to know which release he is using, and then base your updates on that.

There are different methods for updating a kernel and device tree depending on which release is used. No recommendations for that can be made without knowing the release. On the other hand, if you are just updating programs in the root file system, then updating only this isn’t too hard. You will need to be able to state whether the device tree or other boot environment is being updated or customized.

The rootfs itself can be cloned. A raw clone can be loopback mounted, examined, or modified. The raw clone is the size of the rootfs, and so it is probably around 15GB. Not easy to email.