global variable in CUDA

Hello All,

I am new to CUDA and to programming as well. Please help me.

I want to define a global variable count and then use it in different CUDA device functions. So i do something like this.

device int count; // Declare global variable here

main() {
do {
core_kernel<<<5, 32>>>(some parameters); //Call the CUDA kernel
//// What is the value in count variable here???

} while (count != 16);

}

global void core_kernel( some parameters){

calldevicefunction(); // global function calls the device function
}

device void calldevicefunction ( ) {

count = count +1; // use the global variable directly here.

}

I assume device functions is executed by several threads, after the core_kernel is called, how many times function increments the value in count variable. Does the value of count after single kernel call is incremented just once or by the number of total threads/blocks??

Also, is it okay to use count variable this way in calldevicefuntion without declaring or passing it as a function parameter. Do you see any conflict this way by several threads trying to work on the same variable.

Thanks for your help.

I’m not sure where to begin.

Before the kernel call, count will be some random value - like in C/C++, you’ve declared a variable but not assigned anything to it. In this case, it will contain whatever random junk is in the device global memory address in which “count” is stored.