GTX 590 for GPU. any comments?

I’m planning to buy a GPU card for scientific computing
I’m kind of new in GPU, so i dont really know which hardware is the best. my budget is up to 1000usd
after browsing in internet, I found GTX 590 as the best candidate that fits with budget
anyone has comments about GTX 590? any other suggestions?

FYI, i’m gonna use it for n-body simulation and computational fluid dynamics (CFD)

alex

The 590 GTX is composed of two cards. Maybe someone can explain how are computations handled on dual cards. I wonder if the memory is common or transfers are needed between threads running in the same time on each card?

One thing the 590 GTX does not support CUDA compute 2.1 only 2.0.

The two devices on the GTX 590 are completely separate. You have to manually adapt the program code to split the work between them and transfer data from one to the other as needed.

For CUDA, compute capability 2.0 is actually better than 2.1. The two are fully binary compatible, but (depending on the code) CC 2.0 devices are up to 50% faster per clock and core than CC 2.1 devices.

so do you think cc2.0 is enough? is it better to buy 1 GTX590 with cc2.0 than 2 GTC 560 Ti with cc2.1?

Yes, you should prefer CC 2.0.
I’d also go with the GTX590 as it only needs one PCIe slot, but that would depend a lot only your current system configuration and your future intentions.

How is it possible that the CC 2.1 is slower than 2.0? Why did they change the arvhitecture? Is it better for gaming?