Hardware questions Experienced programmer, newbie to GPUs, seeking information sources.

Greetings,

New to the forum - I’m a physicist, just finishing my PhD, doing simulations of granular materials. As a graduation present for myself, I’m planning on getting a Linux box with some sort of CUDA enabled GPU, to enable me to do more simulations without any strings attached. I’m currently using a cluster at ANL, but won’t have access to it once I’m done (unless I get a post-doc there.)

I’ve done some basic research, but it seems like there’s a slew of choices - at the one end, there’s the Tesla lines, which are very high performance dedicated computational cards that are out of my price range (although some C1060s may hit the market once the C2050 and C2070 are available, just around my prospective purchasing time, and may drop to a price where I could consider them.) On the other side, one can get CUDA enabled cards like the 9800 series or the GTX 295 and it’s siblings, for a few hundred dollars, but they don’t have the horsepower that the big boys do. And there’s the quadra line in the middle, and then I’d need a box to put them in, which concerns me a little (while I’ve done experimental work, I’m also a mac guy, and haven’t ever build a PC.) Thinking of running headless on my local network, so most other hardware is not important (I think, …) Or am I just out of my mind trying this?

Anyway, right now I’m looking for recommendations as to where to look to continue doing research for this purchase. I plan on writing some new C code to do the simulations, and don’t want to use windows - mac would be OK, but would probably raise the price a lot, so I’m looking at linux first.

Replies here in the forum, please - I’ll check it every few days. Thanks in advance.

Regards,
aeronaut