help! is there a mutex in cuda?

hello, I’m new to cuda, now, I got an algorithm, which each thread calculate a cost value (float type), and I want to use a global memory to record the minimal value. so something I want is:

__gloabl__ void work(...)

{

// get information and data by the block and grid coordingates...

float cost = ...... // calculate the float cost;

lock(memory);

if (cost < memory.min)

memory.min = cost;

unlock(memory);

}

Does anyone who can give me any idea on how to implement this in cuda?

If memory.min is in global memory and and an integer, and your GPU has compute capability 1.1, you can use atomics. Otherwise use a reduction approach - look at the scan sample in the SDK. Also, check out the Supercomputing 07 CUDA presentation, it discusses reduction optimization in greate detail.

Paulius

Excuse me, but isn’t the reduction sample more appropriate? Also, isn’t reduction faster than atomics?

thanks for your suggest, but question is, my memory.min is float , and maybe an fixed sized array, to record the min 10 value, so I cannot use atomics. In fact, my critical region has more complex operation:

1. memory.size is float*, which represent an array of float, maxsize is 10

2. in critical region, I want to first check if 10 entries is filled, then if not full, add value into that array, and increase size count.

so I don’t think I can count on atomics. well, I’ll look at reduction optimization, thanks again.

I haven’t compared the two, so I’m not sure. If you have perf results it’d be interesting to hear.

Paulius

To soloman:
Int min can be used to compute float min. They’re even equivalent when non-negative.
Also, if you want the 10 smallest value, you can use the partition based O(n) algorithm on the costs. It may be more efficient than maintaining a heap, even on CPU.

To paulius:
Sadly, I’m not using a 1.1 capable card. My colleague’s experience seemed to imply reduction to be faster, but he never had the time to do a descent perf.