Ideal CUDA workstation I'm building a CUDA workstation

I’m working on developing hydrologic models using CUDA and don’t want to have to travel to my campus office (I’m a graduate student) everyday. So, I’m building a desktop workstation (on the model of FASTRA, but not exactly the same) to double as my primary computer in my home office.

I have the following stuff already:

Antec 900 Case
EVGA 780i 3-way SLI Motherboard
Intel Xeon X3220 Quad-Core CPU
8GB Geil Esoteria DDR2 4-4-4-12
2x750GB Seagate SATA HDD
1x1000GB Hitachi SATA HDD
2xSony DVD-RW SATA

What now? I need a PSU and some GPUs to make this think useful. My problem arises from not knowing which GPU would be best for a CUDA machine. I don’t have Tesla money and want to make this work with regular gaming hardware. The debate is between 3x9800GX2 and 3xGTX280 cards. Also, what PSU to power them?

I know the GTX280 has more stream processors per GPU, but the 9800GX2 has two GPUs per card. So, with 6 GPUs the 9800GX2s add up to 768 stream processors; the GTX280s add up to 720 stream processors. But, if CUDA code can’t be run on a GPU attached to a display for more than 5 seconds, does that mean that only two GTX280 GPUs would be full-time CUDA engines while 5 9800GX2 GPUs?

I’m confused!

Forgot to mention that I’ll be running both Linux x64 and Vista Ultimate x64.

You may ask for some volunteers to run your current code on a both GPU types to help decide which gives better speed for your money, if that’s all that matters.
But in general, you want to run for a G200 board… even if it is less bang per buck than the GX2… [which may or may not be true, it’s very close.]

G200 is much superior for CUDA in general. Double the RAM (1GB per GPU not 512MB) may be a huge factor alone. Double the registers, double floating point support, shared atomics, 64 bit ints, more threads in flight… lots of new hardware features.