Industrial defect detection

Hi, I’m new to the deep learning space and wanted help creating a workflow for realtime defect detection in an industrial setting(focused on PCB defects). Optimally, I would be able to train the model using GPUs on AWS and deploy on an edge device like the Jetson. I have two ideas for an approach:

1. Treat the defect detection like an object detection problem. Train a TLT object detection model on a defect dataset in AWS and export the model for deployment on Jetson with Deepstream.

2. I found this paper treating defect detection as an image segmentation problem: Engagement | Highspot. To summarize, the approach is to create a Unet model in TensorFlow and run inference with TF-TRT.

Overall, my questions are:

1. Is one of the approaches more viable than the other?
  2. How would I adapt the second approach for realtime defect detection? Could I do something similar to the first approach to deploy the model on a Jetson?

I am new to this process, so examples/implementation details are more than welcome!

Best,
Marco

I think you can try both approaches.
For 2nd approach, there is Maskrcnn network in current TLT version. You can try it.

Thanks for your advice. For the Unet/Tensorflow approach, could a follow a similar guideline to this post for deployment on the Jetson?:
https://developer.nvidia.com/blog/deploying-models-from-tensorflow-model-zoo-using-deepstream-and-triton-inference-server/

I would ultimately want to end up with a deployable app for realtime detection

For TLT maskrcnn, there is a blog https://developer.nvidia.com/blog/training-instance-segmentation-models-using-maskrcnn-on-the-transfer-learning-toolkit/
For deployment of maskrcnn model, refer to Integrating TAO Models into DeepStream — TAO Toolkit 3.22.05 documentation