IPoIB Performance - ESXi 5.1 U1

Hi all

First of all I’d just like to say I think its excellent that Mellanox provides a forum for IB home labs / hobby, that is very good service.

For me, my home lab is a way of testing out “new” solutions before I consider recommending them - I like to have full confidence in my recommendations and of course its a great way to push your skills where you may not be able to do in a corporate / budget environment.

Anyway, I am very new to IB but with it becoming prominent in the Big Data market and also VSANs (storage in the cabinet); I wanted to see what it was all about.

I have purchased the following (I reliase its not cutting edge, but early next year I will be upgrading to a QDR / 40Gbps Mellanox IB switch with built-in SM) assuming I can get this working the way I expect:

1 x Voltaire GridDirector ISR 9024D (not the M model)

2 x MHGH28-XTC (Rev X1) HCA cards - I flashed these to firmware version 2.7000

2 x CX4 cables

2 x VMware ESXi custom systems

2 x Intel 335 SSDs (500MB/s each) - in 2 weeks this will become 4 x Intel 335 SSDs (providing theoretical 2Gbps ish IO in RAID-0)

Ok, I have installed the relevant drivers - for sake of a simple guide (which can be corrected if you think I have missed / done something wrong) here is what I did:

[ INFINIBAND ]

1. Install the Mellanox OFED drivers

esxcli system module paramters set -m=mlx4_core -p=mtu_4k=1

esxcli software vib install -d /tmp/mlx4_en-mlnx-1.6.1.2-offline_bundle-471530.zip –no-sig-check

esxcli software vib install -d /tmp/MLNX-OFED-ESX-1.8.2.0.zip

Installation Result

Message: The update completed successfully, but the system needs to be rebooted for the changes to be effective.

Reboot Required: true