Jetson AGX Xavier DDR Test

Hi,
I am new to NVIDIA Jetson Xavier, and I wanna do a performance test and see if it fits my project. I tried both running cuda-10.0 samples with nvprof and nv-nsight-cu-cli but neither of them returned anything related to dram_utilization. I have checked their “–query-metrics” and found nothing. Please tell me how to check anything related to dram if anyone knows.

Thanks
Sam

Hi,

Here are two recommended tools for memory profiling.

1. You can check the on time system status with tegrastats, including memory usage.

$ sudo tegrastats

2. Nsight system can give you some memory bandwidth report.

Thanks.

Hi AastaLLL,

Thanks for your quick response! I have tried use both tools. Unfortunately, tegrastats only gives me the overall status rather than specific app that I launched. On the other hand, Nsight Systems gives me a lot of info but I did not find anything related to device memory. I have also checked nvprof, nvvp as well as Nsight Compute, the device memory section is left n/a. It does not make sense cause the model I load from device memory is over 50MB and system_read_bytes in nvprof only shows 1.2MB. Did I miss anything?

PS: Hope you could also explain how this system_read_bytes come from.

Thanks again for your response!
Sam

Hi,

Sorry for the late update.

Do you use TensorRT or cuDNN related API?
A common cause is that it takes some memories to load the libraries, which won’t be shown on the profiling tool.

Here is a related topic for checking the memory usage from the libraries:

Thanks.

Hi AastaLLL,

Thanks for the update and I will take a look at the related topic right away!
Yes, I used TensorRT APIs for inferencing data. I parsed a model and created tensorRT engine. After that I created an execute context. I did another test using command line version of Nsight System and import the report to my desktop which gave me more information than GUI version, and here is what I’ve got.