Latest update on CUDA programming on Laptops 8600M GT

Dear Friends, :)

I am relatively new to GPGPU and CUDA. I have planned to do some communication related research using GPUs with CUDA. Basically the algorithms involve the following computations:
Compute 64 sets of 64-point FFT
Computation of 33 covariance matrices in frequency domain.
Computation of eigenvalues and eigenvector
I want to do all this on my laptop. I did a thorough research and found that 8600M GT (has 32 Stream Processors, while 8600M GS has only 16) will be both economical and efficient among the available mobile versions of CUDA-enabled GPUs (at least for some prototyping and to check that my algorithms are indeed working. The actual testing will be done later on Tesla). Since I want to develop the applications on my laptop I have zeroed on DELL Inspiron laptop with Windows Vista/Linux and NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, 256 MB.
I have following questions my mind:
1-While buying a laptop, what are the features we must look into if we want to do some serious GPGPU for non-graphical applications (like memory, number of stream processor, GT versus GS etc). What if we want to do some graphical GPGPU?
2-How much system RAM is sufficient (I am planning for 1 GB; it will cost me a bit cheaper)? Shall I go for 2 GB or more? What about GPU memory (GeForce 8600M GT has 256 MB).
3-What is the latest status of support for CUDA on 8600M GT by NVIDIA (driver’s availability etc) with Windows Vista/XP and Linux.
I want to know all this before buying the laptop, since I do not want to invest huge cash in buying a toy laptop!

Any suggestion will be highly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Heshsham

Two short pointers -

Get 2GB of RAM, preferably 4.

Check out the new 9700 M GT cards, they’re similar to the 8600 M GT but more power efficient, and are IMO probably going to be more widely available.

That said, I just got my hands on a very nice Macbook Pro for a good price, CUDA seems to run very well under Linux on it.