matrix multiplication using global memory

hi everyone~!!!

i’m studying cuda now…

attach code…

it’s matrix multiplication in nvidia programming guide…

i think it’s correct code.but matrix size larger…for example 4096 X 4096…or more larger…

it didn’t work with error message

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

cudaSafeCall() Runtime API error in file <c:/Visual Studio 2005/Projects/matrixMul/matrixMul _global.cu>

, line 118 : the launch timed out and was terminated.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

using 4096 X 4096 matrix size… it’s enough global memory size…

my experimental environment: window7, cuda 2.3, GTX260…

could you tell me what is the matter???

thanks everyone~!!!
matrixMul.zip (300 KB)

There is a time limit of 2-5 seconds on GPUs with an attached display. That error is telling you that your kernel is taking too long to finish and is being killed by the display driver (which is why it only happens at large matrix sizes). Either make you code faster. limit yourself to smaller problems, or use a dedicated compute GPU to get around the problem.

I’ve never understood this restriction. I have written kernels that take 40 minutes to finish, which is terrible I know, but I’m just saying. In fact, I have never had the timeout error occur. Does this depend on which GPU I am running?

It is pretty pragmatic. Would you prefer your desktop to completely freeze for the duration of a kernel/rendering application (possibly forever if the app/kernel crash), or would you prefer that the display manager to proactively ensure that the hardware it is managing continues to work?