matrix multiplication with large dimensions

Hi, everyone! I’m just a CUDA novice.

I’m reading the book “Programming Massively Parallel Processors, A Hands-on Approach”.

I followed the example of the matrix multiplication with multiple thread blocks in Chapter 4, and made minor modifications for exercises. I found that it works for smaller matrices, say 1280x1280. However, it doesn’t work for large matrices, say 2400x2400. Could anyone help me to figure out the problem? Thank you in advance!

output:

xwu@xth3:~> uname -a

Linux xth3 2.6.34.7-0.7-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT 2010-12-13 11:13:53 +0100 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

xwu@xth3:~> /sbin/lspci | grep VGA

02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G96 [Quadro FX 580] (rev a1)

xwu@xth3:~> nvcc test.cu

xwu@xth3:~> ./a.out 1280

1280 serial      20.73 sec

cuda 4.54 sec

xwu@xth3:~> ./a.out 2400

2400 serial     150.90 sec

cuda 9.63 sec

0	p    5.99841	gp    0.00000

a.out: test.cu:103: int main(int, char**): Assertion `p[i]==gp[i]’ failed.

Aborted

xwu@xth3:~>

#include <stdio.h>

#include <stdlib.h>

#include <assert.h>

#include <math.h>

#include <time.h>

#include <cuda.h>

#define TILE_WIDTH 16

// serial implementation

void MatMul(float *m, float *n, float *p, int width) {

int i, j, k;

float a, b, sum;

for (i=0; i<width; i++) {

for (j=0; j<width; j++) {

sum=0.0;

for (k=0; k<width; k++) {

a=m[i*width+k];

b=n[k*width+j];

sum+=a*b;

}

p[i*width+j]=sum;

}

}

}

// cuda gpu implementation kernel

__global__ void gMatMulKernel (float *m_d, float *n_d, float *gp_d, int width) {

int k, row, col;

float sum;

row=blockIdx.y*TILE_WIDTH+threadIdx.y;

col=blockIdx.x*TILE_WIDTH+threadIdx.x;

sum=0.0;

for (k=0; k<width; k++)

sum+=m_d[row*width+k]*n_d[k*width+col];

gp_d[row*width+col]=sum;

}

// cuda gpu implementation

void gMatMul(float *m, float *n, float *gp, int width) {

int size;

float *m_d, *n_d, *gp_d;

dim3 dimGrid(width/TILE_WIDTH,width/TILE_WIDTH,1);