Mirco SD Card Usage - Memory

Hi all,

I am currently hitting a wall when trying to install openCV that I don’t have enough space left on the Xavier, and I am a little too novice of a user to try and do what JetsonHacks did with the SSD (Install NVMe SSD on NVIDIA Jetson AGX Developer Kit - JetsonHacks) but I did see that the xavier has a slot for a micro SD card and so I was wondering if it was possible to just put one in and use as extra storage for the device?

If so, is there any particular set-up/mounting I would need to do?

Thanks!

This would function just like an SD card on a desktop PC. There is probably some automount which would try to mount somewhere in “/media” when you log in to the GUI, but you could also pick a mount point manually and put it in “/etc/fstab”. Manual mount could go by UUID so that other SD cards would continue to automount if there. The fstab entry could be made to mount only if the SD card is found, and thus to not hang up on boot when missing.

A typical place to add a partition is on top of “/usr/local/”. If you were to mount a partition here, then existing content would go away during the mount, but then come back after umount. Something you could consider is recursively copying “/usr/local/*” onto the SD card when ext4 formatted and mounted in an alternate location, and then setting the SD card to mount there…you’d have the SD card copy and the eMMC copy would appear (without any updating) if SD is missing.

Some people also do this with “/home/”. An SD card, if large enough, could actually have two partitions with one mounted on “/usr/local/”, and another on “/home/”. Just “/usr/local/” is the simplest route and does a lot of good since CUDA and many other tools exist there…you could choose to delete the eMMC content there if you are convinced your SD card content is good…or you could just “bzip2 -9” all of that content to compress it unless needed later, and then bunzip2 that content.

What options are you interested in?