MOBO and Processor for a 2 GPU setup

Hi all,

I am in the process of building a machine GPU computing.
The idea is to have 2 GPUs(Titan Xs or GTX980s, depending on my future budget).
I guess I could save a bit by getting a 79 (instead current 99) system.
I am thinking of:

1. Intel Core i7-4820K.
    Does it make sense to pay more for 3930 or 3820?
  2. Asus X79 Deluxe MOBO
    or Asus Rampage IV Extreme? Or should I get a better one?
  3. 32GB of memory.
    Do you think such a machine would work well enough?
    Any suggestions would be appreciated, as this is my first build.
    Cheers

[Caveat: I haven’t custom-built a system in many years, and am not familiar with the components listed]

It all depends. Whether this combination would work well is primarily a function of the application(s) you plan to run on the machine. For example, by choosing an X79/IvyBridge-E combo you are missing out on AVX2 and DDR4 support available from a X99/Haswell-E combo, but your are also saving significant amounts of money. Depending on the application, it could make sense to spend the money saved on a good-sized SSD.

For most purposes, a quad-core CPU partnered with two GPUs should be more than sufficient. The specified amount of system memory looks right to me (my personal rule of thumb is system memory ~= 4 x total GPU memory). I would suggest getting an 80 Plus Platinum PSU for a system like this.

For X79 I built 3 PCs with these exact specs and have been very happy with them:

motherboard:

[url]Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more - Newegg.com

cpu:

[url]Intel Core i7-4820K - Core i7 4th Gen Ivy Bridge-E Quad-Core 3.7GHz (Turbo 3.9GHz) LGA 2011 130W Desktop Processor - BX80633i74820K - Newegg.com

and then two EVGA GTX 980 superclocked ACX:

[url]EVGA GeForce GTX 980 04G-P4-2983-KR 4GB SC GAMING w/ACX 2.0 Graphics Card - Newegg.com - Newegg.com