MyFirstCuda

Hi.Im a amateur cuda programmer.I wrote a program that adds two vectors but it doesnt work correctly and give to me an incorrect result.I did upload my file.
im using visual studio 2008 . I havent GPU and i`m using DebugSimulator. Please say me where is the problem.and i have problem with concept of definitions of blocks and grids and importance of them.please help me.thanks :-)
sample.cu (2.57 KB)

Please answer me :unsure:

You are launching kernel on grid with 1 block of size 1x1. so u will get only sum of first elements.
U have to split your vector size (10 in your example) into several blocks. block size also should be multiple of 32.
for example: Vector Size = 1024
then VecAdd<<<16x1, 64x1>>> where 16 is number of blocks and 64 is size of block (1024 = 16 * 64)

I changed my code to :

__global__ void VecAdd(float* A, float* B, float* C)

{ 

int i = threadIdx.x; C[i] = A[i] + B[i];

} 

int main(int argc, char* argv[])

{

float *a , *b ,*c;

a = new float[1024]; b = new float[1024];c = new float[1024];

dim3 block(1,1),grid(1,1);

float fa[1024],fb[1024] , fc[1024];

for(int j=0;j<1024;j++)

{

a[j]=b[j]=1;

c[j] = 0;

}

cudaMalloc((void **)&a,1024*sizeof(float));

cudaMalloc((void **)&b,1024*sizeof(float));

cudaMalloc((void **)&c,1024*sizeof(float));

cudaMemcpy(a,fa,1024*sizeof(float),cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

cudaMemcpy(b,fb,1024*sizeof(float),cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

cudaMemcpy(c,fc,1024*sizeof(float),cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

VecAdd<<<16, 64>>>(a,b,c);

cudaMemcpy(c,fc,1024*sizeof(float),cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);

for(int j=0;j<1024;j++)

printf("\n%f",fc[j]);

getch();

return 0;

}

my vector size is 1024

but again it doesn`t give me a correct result and all results are 0.I’m confused. External Image