VectorAdd example from CUDACast #2

Hello, I am new in CUDA programming. I work on VC 2012 Pro having Installed the CUDA Toolkit v.6.0 and I am trying to recreate the example shown on CUDACast #2 from youtube. My first CUDA program.

Although everything is working as shown on the video, when I try to check for execution times I realize that instead of an accelerated program I get a slower one with CUDA.

I check my times using a timer.h header similar to the one used on CUDACast #3 and while I get about 0.000012 seconds for the CPU program, I reach 0.000063 seconds with the CUDA program. Please help!

I am using a GEFORCE GTX 750.

Your first CUDA program is intended to teach you the basics, not necessarily be fast. Not every CUDA program will be faster than some corresponding CPU program. Depending on how you do the timing, Vector Add will not necessarily be faster (by itself) on the GPU, due perhaps to the time cost of transferring the data to and from the GPU.

Thank you very much for the quick response. So i try to increase the size of the vectors to produce more computing workload. The CPU execution time goes up but the CUDA code cannot add the vectors properly. The result is all zeros. Why is this happening?

Increasing the size of the vectors won’t help from a performance measurement point of view, if your timing is including the data transfers, since increasing the size of the vectors also increases the size of the data to be transferred. This particular educational kernel is also using only one threadblock, which is not a high-performance approach to CUDA programming.

The code you are working with has been stripped down to the bare essentials to highlight the concepts that were intended to be presented. That code is easy to break. I’d suggest that taking what is basically the most introductory cudacast, and then using Q+A here to advance your CUDA knowledge is not very efficient. Take advantage of further learning materials that are available: