newbie question possible to use cuda for 3d visualization?

Hi Guys!

It’s my first day here and spent the last 12 hours reading as many topics as possible. I’m studying 3d Animation and I’m working on my degree dissertation which is going in the direction of interactive visualization - the idea is to have a model (done in Maya or Mudbox) and be able to interact with it like changing shader and move the camera. Now, would something like that be possible to do in Cuda?

Sorry if it seems to be a stupid question but I havent touched C+ for about 13 years and would need to know it before I start to waste too much time in this idea.

Thanks
Daniel

Im not sure how much of this would be useful in CUDA.
Shaders are essentialy “CUDA” applications, or the other way around… cuda applications are essentialy shaders.

Moving the camera and loading shaders is what OpenGL is there for. Im not sure you need anything else if thats the kind of interaction you want.
On the other hand, if you want ot interact with your models through, say, rigid body dynamics, then yes, using CUDA would be fruitful.

Hope this helps.

Yes, this helps already! As I said, I’m totally new to CUDA and surely would have to look again for my old C+ books…so everything that avoids me waisting my time on something that can’t be done or at least faster with something like opengl, is a great help for me

So you are saying that cuda would give me better results if there would be some sort of change in the model structure instead just pure visualization? Hmmm, the only deformation I have will be controlled and not changable by the user.

CUDA is used for processing data, not displaying them… sure, a 3d-engine does the same, but i think ure dont want to create one of them. to display data, especially 3D models&co, u should use DirectX or OpenGL

but maby u can find some good cuda-samples in the sdk, that does both