NVENC HEVC and intra refresh

I am trying to use a Quadro P6000 on CentOS 7 using driver version 390.59 and video codec SDK 8.2.16 to encode HEVC video. If I have intra refresh disabled it works fine. As soon as I enable intra refresh (NV_ENC_CONFIG_HEVC::enableIntraRefresh = true), it fails with error code 8 (NV_ENC_ERR_INVALID_PARAM) on the encoder initialization call on line 273 in NvEncoder.cpp.

I have verified that intra refresh is supported in HEVC on the card by checking the capabilities. I have also tried changing other parameters to see if maybe I have some invalid combination of parameters. I have not been able to get it to work. Also, using the exact same parameters, including enabling intra refresh, with H264 works just fine.

Does anyone have any idea what I may be doing wrong or how to further toubleshoot this?

HEVC + interlaced encoding is not supported anywhere…

Thanks for the reply. I’m new to video codecs. Is interlaced encoding the same as intra refresh?

Assuming the answer is yes, why would the NV_ENC_CONFIG_HEVC struct even have the enableIntraRefresh field? Why would calling NvEncoderCudaInstance.GetCapabilityValue(NV_ENC_CODEC_HEVC_GUID, NV_ENC_CAPS_SUPPORT_INTRA_REFRESH) return 1?

EDIT: Assuming the answer is no, my original question still applies.

Interlaced is completely different from intra refresh. Interlaced content is where a single frame has 2 fields of data. HEVC spec doesn’t support field/interlaced encoding. H.264 spec does support it.

However, intra refresh is an error resiliency feature used in streaming scenarios. Let’s say during a game streaming session, a frame gets corrupted due to errors introduced when the frame is getting transmitted. You can send an IDR frame, but sending an IDR across a low bandwidth transmission medium may not be possible. With intra refresh, you send waves of intra MBs across multiple frames and hence help client recover from error scenarios.